ekskursii.by

Belarusian excursion portal

Fortification №2

To book a tour

Type: Locks, fortresses, strengthenings Date of Foundation: 1915 year Status: Regional value Republic of Belarus, Grodno region, Grodno district, Naumovichi

There are a lot of fortifications near the August Channel. Among them there are forts of Grodno fortress. The first projects of the fortifications appeared in 1807. However, more complete plan was proposed only in 1880.

The first forts of Grodno fortress were built in the late XIX century. According to some sources, the construction of field fortifications on the approaches to the forts had being carried out during the First World War - until the beginning of battles to protect Grodno in August 1915. Military and civil engineers were responsible for building process. As a result, 13 defensive fortifications appeared around Grodno.

Forts were erected on hills. A fortification was a complex military structure, constructed for long-term defense. Forts were almost unassailable from the front side. Their length was up to 150 m. They were encircled by concrete steps leading upward - to the main line of defense. Large earth walls enclosed with wire were located on the inner courtyards of the fortifications.

The most famous fortification is Fort №2. The defensive structure was located opposite the village Naumovichi, next to the road to Sopotskin, not far from the August Canal. The length of its main facade was about 150 m, thickness of walls - about 2 m. In 1939-1941 the fort was included into the system of Grodno fortifications. There were loopholes of 9th machine-gun artillery battalion in the building.

The Fort is known because it took part in two world wars. During the First World War it was a fortification. However it was blown up in the night from 19th to 20th August, 1915. Because it could not any longer to deter the enemy forces. The fortress ceased to exist, but during the First World War the German side had not achieved its goal - to defeat Russian forces and compel the Russian Empire to sign the Instrument of surrender.

In the 1941-1943 years German soldiers were shooting civilians in Grodno and surrounding villages near the ruins of the fort №2. After the war the memorial to the victims of fascism was erected on the place of mass murder: a grieving mother mourns her sons who died in both wars.

reveal all text

Photo - Fortification №2

Individual and corporate excursions - Fortification №2

Location map - Fortification №2

Address Republic of Belarus, Grodno region, Grodno district, Naumovichi GPS Google: 53.717335′ N, 23.669039′ E

ekskursii.by

Белорусский экскурсионный портал

Форт №2

Заказать экскурсию

Тип: Замки, крепости, укрепления Дата основания: 1915 г Статус: Регионального значения Республика Беларусь, Гродненская обл., Гродненский р-н, д. Наумовичи

В окрестностях Августовского канала немало крепостных сооружений, среди которых есть форты Гродненской крепости. Первые проекты укреплений появились в 1807 году. Однако наиболее полный план был готов лишь в 1880 году.

Первые форты Гродненской крепости были возведены в конце XIX века. По данным некоторых источников, строительство полевых укреплений на подступах к фортам продолжилось и во время Первой мировой войны – вплоть до начала боев по защите Гродно в августе 1915 года. Работами руководили военные и гражданские инженеры. В итоге, вокруг Гродно появились 13 оборонительных укреплений.

Форты возводились на возвышенностях. Каждый представлял собой сложное военное сооружение, рассчитанное на длительную оборону. С фасадной стороны форты были практически непреступными укреплениями длиной до 150 м. Их опоясывали ряды бетонных ступеней, ведущих наверх – к основной линии обороны. Большие земляные валы, огражденные рядами колючей проволоки, находились на внутренних дворах укреплений.

Самым известным фортификационным сооружением в Гродненской крепости является форт №2. Оборонительное строение находилось напротив деревни Наумовичи, рядом с дорогой на Сопоцкин, в непосредственной близости от Августовского канала. Длина его центрального фасада составляла около 150 м, толщина стен – около 2 м. В 1939-1941 годах форт был включен в систему Гродненского укрепрайона. В укреплении находились бойницы 9-го пулеметно-артиллерийского батальона.

Форт известен тем, что принимал участие сразу в двух мировых войнах. Во время первой мировой он служил фортификационным сооружением. Однако укрепление было взорвано в ночь с 19 на 20 августа 1915 года, когда уже не могло сдерживать натиск противника. Крепость прекратила свое существование, однако во время Первой мировой войны немецкая сторона так и не добилась своей цели — разгромить русские войска и заставить Российскую империю подписать акт о капитуляции.

В 1941-1943 годах у развалин форта №2 немецкие солдаты расстреливали мирных жителей Гродно и окрестных деревень. После войны на месте массовых убийств был установлен памятник жертвам фашизма: скорбящая мать оплакивает своих сыновей, погибших в обеих войнах.

раскрыть весь текст

Фото - Форт №2

Индивидуальные и корпоративные экскурсии - Форт №2

Расположение на карте - Форт №2

Адрес Республика Беларусь, Гродненская обл., Гродненский р-н, д. Наумовичи GPS Google: 53.717335′ N, 23.669039′ E