ekskursii.by

Belarusian excursion portal

Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary Church in Sopotskin

To book a tour

Type: Katolik churches Style: Baroque Date of Foundation: 1789 - 1612 yy Status: Regional value Republic of Belarus, Grodno region, Grodno district, Sopotskin, Teolinskaia Str. 45

Sopotskin is a small town that is located near Grodno. It has been known since the XVI century as a small Belarusian town. One of its main attractions is Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary and St. Josaphat Kuntsevich church, that is also called Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary church or St. Josaphat Kuntsevich church.

The temple is located in the suburb of Sopotskin called Teolin. It got its name in honor of the wife of Belarusian magnate Anthony Vollovich. The suburb was founded in 1789 on the place where village Yasyudovo was once located.

According to the legend, the church was erected here by magnate Ian Vollovich in 1612. Even today historians are not sure whether the present building in Sopotskin corresponds with the initial construction of the temple. It is known that at that time there was Uniate St. Josaphat Kuntsevich church. It was demolished in 1970. But some historians consider that it was a prototype of Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary church.

In 1867 the church was handed over to Transfiguration Women”s Orthodox monastery. Later, the temple was reconstructed. As the result two towers were demolished. There are some constructions that still remind about the Orthodox past of the church. Among them there are a building of Sunday school, a cemetery in the courtyard of the temple and wrought-iron gates. During the First World War the monastery was completely evacuated. In August 1916 the building got its status of the Catholic church back.

During World War II the fire destroyed the roof and much of inner church decorations. However, in the first year after the liberation of Sopotskin from Nazi invaders parishioners managed to rebuild the temple.

In 1989 the temple was reconstructed again. It got a few new towers. But two years later there was a fire. It almost completely destroyed the main church altar. Soon the Catholic relic was restored. But the remnants of the old altar are still stored in the vaults of the church.

Today Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary and St. Josaphat Kuntsevich church is a one nave basilica. There are two towers, built in the retrospective Baroque style, that decorate its main facade. The inside decorations of the church follow the tradition of the XX century. Here there are the altars of St. Francis, St. Anthony, St. Josaphat Kuntsevich, St. Casimir, St. Anne and St. Michael, and the father Kolbe. In the temple you can see the commemorative plaques in honor to Roman Catholic priest U.Navosadko and Count P. Gursky, political and military leader T. Kosciuszko and writer E. Orzeszka.

reveal all text

Photo - Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary Church in Sopotskin

Individual and corporate excursions - Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary Church in Sopotskin

Location map - Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary Church in Sopotskin

Address Republic of Belarus, Grodno region, Grodno district, Sopotskin, Teolinskaia Str. 45 GPS Google: 53.830134′ N, 23.645012′ E

ekskursii.by

Белорусский экскурсионный портал

Сопоцкий костел Вознесения Девы Марии

Заказать экскурсию

Тип: Костелы Стиль: барокко Дата основания: 1789 - 1612 гг Статус: Регионального значения Республика Беларусь, Гродненская обл., Гродненский р-н, г.п. Сопоцкин, ул. Теолинская, 45

Сопоцкин – городской поселок, расположенный недалеко от Гродно. Он известен еще с XVI века как белорусское местечко. Одной из главных достопримечательностей поселка является костел Успения Пресвятой Девы Марии и Св. Иосафата Кунцевича, который также называют костелом Вознесения Девы Марии или костелом Св. Иосафата Кунцевича.

Храм находится в предместье Сопоцкина - Теолин, которое получило такое название в честь жены белорусского магната Антония Волловича. Предместье было заложено в 1789 году на месте деревни Ясюдово.

Согласно преданию, костел был возведен в 1612 году магнатом Яном Волловичем. Однако до сих пор историки сомневаются, соответствует ли нынешнее здание в Сопоцкине первоначальной постройке храма. Известно, что в то время в местечке уже существовал униатский храм Св.Иосафата Кунцевича, который был снесен в 1970 году. Именно его многие историки считают прообразом костела Вознесения Девы Марии.

В 1867 году костел был передан Преображенскому женскому православному монастырю. Позже храм подвергся кардинальной перестройке, в результате которой были снесены две башни костела. О православном прошлом католической церкви напоминают сохранившееся здание воскресной школы, а также захоронения во дворе храма и кованые ворота. Во время Первой мировой войны монастырь был полностью эвакуирован. В августе 1916 года зданию вернули статус костела.

Пожар уничтожил крышу и значительную часть внутреннего убранства костела Успения Пресвятой Девы Марии и Св. Иосафата Кунцевича во время Второй Мировой войны. Однако уже в первый год после освобождения Сопоцкина от фашистских захватчиков прихожане сумели восстановить храм.

В 1989 году внешний вид здания несколько изменился – над храмом были надстроены новые башни. Однако через два года случился пожар, практически полностью уничтоживший главный алтарь костела. Вскоре католическую реликвию восстановили. Но остатки старого алтаря до сих пор хранятся в хранилищах костела.

Сегодня костел Успения Пресвятой Девы Марии и Св. Иосафата Кунцевича представляет собой однонефную базилику. Две башни, построенные в стиле ретроспективного барокко, украшают ее главный фасад. Внутренний декор костела выполнен в традициях XX-го века. Здесь находятся алтари Св. Франтишка, Св. Антония, Св. Иосафата Кунцевича, Св. Казимира, Св. Анны и Св. Михала, а также отца Кольбе. В храме можно увидеть памятные доски ксендзу Ю. Навосадко и графу П. Гурскому, а также политическому и военному деятелю Т. Костюшко и писательнице Э. Ожешко.

раскрыть весь текст

Фото - Сопоцкий костел Вознесения Девы Марии

Индивидуальные и корпоративные экскурсии - Сопоцкий костел Вознесения Девы Марии

Расположение на карте - Сопоцкий костел Вознесения Девы Марии

Адрес Республика Беларусь, Гродненская обл., Гродненский р-н, г.п. Сопоцкин, ул. Теолинская, 45 GPS Google: 53.830134′ N, 23.645012′ E