ekskursii.by

Belarusian excursion portal

герб

Gorki

Photo - Gorki

The population: 34 thousand. Status: Average The year of foundation: 1544 Mogilev region, Gorki district

Location - Gorki

Horki - administrative center of Horki district of Mogilev region in the east of the republic near the Belarusian-Russian border. The city is located on the Prone River (the Dnieper basin), where the Porositsa River flows into it. Horki are 80 km from Mogilev and 270 km from Minsk. Railway station Pogodino on the line Orsha - Krichev is located in the city. Horki are crossed by motorways of republican significance P70 (Mogilev - Lenino), P15 (Lepel - Krichev), P123 (Mostok - Dribin - Horki).

reveal all text

History of the development - Gorki

Horki are first mentioned in «Lithuanian metric» in 1544 as a village in the Vitebsk province of the Grand Duchy of Lithuania. Initially, the estate was in the possession of Prince Drutsky-Gorsky, but in 1584 Horki were transferred to Sapegas. In 1619 Horki received from Lev Sapega «Charter about liberties», «Small Magdeburg Law».At that time, the settlement was the center of the estate, fairs were held here annually. The territory of Horki district was affected by the military events of the Northern War (1700-1721), in 1708 Peter I. even stopped in Horki.In 1717 the city with the surrounding lands was acquired by the prince A. Menshikov, who owned them untill his exile to Siberia in 1727.

In 1772 after the first partition of the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth, Horki became part of the Russian Empire. At the end of the XVIII century the estate passed into the possession of Count L. Sologub. During the Patriotic War of 1812 more than 2 thousand people died in Horki. In 1828 the Russian authorities confiscated the estate from L. Sologub. In 1836 the Gorygorets Agricultural School (opened in 1840) was founded in Horki, transformed in 1842 into a higher agricultural school, and in 1848 reorganized into Gorygoretsky Agricultural Institute. Many famous people who left a significant mark in the history and culture of Belarus, graduated from the institute in Horki. Konstantin Verenitsyn, the author of «Taras na Parnase» studied in Horki. During the national liberation uprising of 1863-1864 Horki was the only city of the former Grand Duchy of Lithuania tha was liberated from Russian power. After the suppression of the uprising, the institute was transferred to St. Petersburg. Only the lower classes of the school remained in Horki. In 1867 the coat of arms of Gorki was approved. At the end of the XIX century a postal station, pharmacy, iron foundry, meteorological station began to work here.

After the establishment of Soviet power in Horki in 1919 the Goretsky agricultural institute was restored. In the period from 1919 to 1924.Horki, together with other territories of Eastern Belarus, were part of the RSFSR. In 1925, Goretsky Agricultural Institute was transformed into the Belarusian Academy of Agriculture. In the interwar years, the well-known writer M. Goretsky once taught at the academy. During the World War II from July 12, 1941 until June 26, 1944. Horki was under German occupation.

reveal all text

Tourism potential - Gorki

For several centuries since its opening Belarusian State Agricultural Academy - the oldest institution of higher education in the agrarian sector in the CIS countries and Europe, which is still functioning, Horki were considered the intellectual capital of the region. The Academy was founded in the first half of the XIX century and retained its status and credibility to this day. At the moment, there are 16 full-time and part-time departments at the Academy, where 15 000 students study. The former main building of the 30s of the XIX century in the style of classicism has survived to the present day, as well as several buildings of the late XIX - early XX centuries in eclectic and modern style.

Among other sights, which will surely interest travelers actively interested in the history and culture of Belarus, it is worth noting Church of the Ascension in Horki that was built in 1863. The temple is located in the central part of the city and is a monument of architecture of the retrospective-Russian style.

Building of the dental clinic in Horki is a preserved fragment of the old, pre-war stone buildings of the city of the late XIX - early XX centuries. In 2012, the building was restored to its original appearance.

In District Historical and Ethnographic Museum in Horki visitors of the city can familiarize themselves with the history of the region, the ethnographic features of the area, and the life and lifestyle of people in the county town of the late XIX - early XX centuries.

In the center of the city there is a monument to a famous countryman - a Soviet military leader, Marshal of the Soviet Union, twice Hero of the Soviet Union I.Yakubovsky.

reveal all text

Location map - Gorki

GPS Google: 54.2761039′ N, 30.9867877′ E

ekskursii.by

Белорусский экскурсионный портал

герб

Горки

Фото - Горки

Население: 34 тыс. чел. Статус: Средний Год основания: 1544 Могилёвская область, Горецкий район

Расположение - Горки

Горки - административный центр Горецкого района Могилевской области на востоке республики вблизи белорусско-русской границы. Город расположен на реке Проне (бассейн Днепра), на месте где в нее впадает река Поросица. Горки находятся в 80 км от Могилева и 270 км от Минска. В городе находится железнодорожная станция Погодино на линии Орша - Кричев. Горки пересекают автодороги республиканского значения Р70 (Могилев - Ленино), Р15 (Лепель - Кричев), Р123 (Мосток - Дрибин - Горки).

раскрыть весь текст

История развития - Горки

Горки впервые упоминаются в «Литовской метрике» в 1544 г. как село в составе Витебского воеводства Великого княжества Литовского. Изначально имение находилось во владении князя Друцкого-Горского, но в 1584 г. Горки перешли Сапегам. В 1619 г. Горки получили от Льва Сапеги «Устав о вольностях», «малое Магдебургское право». В то время поселение было центром имения, здесь ежегодно проводились ярмарки. До XIX в. населенный пункт был известен под названием Горы-Горки. Территорию Горецкого района затронули военные события Северной войны (1700-1721 гг.), в 1708 г. в Горках даже останавливался Петр I. В 1717 г. город с окрестными землями приобрел князь А. Меншиков, который владел ими до своей ссылки в Сибирь в 1727 г.

В 1772 г. после первого раздела Речи Посполитой Горки вошли в состав Российской империи. В конце XVIII в. имение перешло во владение графа Л. Сологуба. В годы Отечественной войны 1812 г. в Горках погибло более 2 тыс. жителей. В 1828 г. российские власти конфисковали имение у Л.Сологуба. В 1836 г. в Горках была основана Горыгорецкая земледельческая школа (открыта в 1840 г.), преобразованная в 1842 г. в высшую сельскохозяйственную школу, а в 1848 г. реорганизованная в Горыгорецкий земледельческий институт. Множество известных людей, которые оставили значительный след в истории и культуре Беларуси, закончили институт в Горках. Так в Горках учился Константин Вереницын, автор «Тараса на Парнасе». Во времена национально-освободительного восстания 1863-1864 гг. Горки были единственным городом бывшего Великого Княжества Литовского, освобожденным от российской власти. После подавления восстания институт был переведен в Санкт-Петербург. В Горках остались только низшие классы училища. В 1867 г. был утвержден герб Горок. В конце XIX в. здесь появились почтовая станция, аптека, начал работать чугунолитейный завод, метеостанция.

После установления в Горках в 1919 г. советской власти был восстановлен Горецкий земледельческий институт. В период с 1919 по 1924 гг. Горки, вместе с другими территориями Восточной Беларуси, находились в составе РСФСР. В 1925 г. Горецкий земледельческий институт был преобразован в Белорусскую сельскохозяйственную академию. В межвоенные годы в академии одно время преподавал известный писатель М. Горецкий. В годы Великой Отечественной войны с 12 июля 1941 до 26 июня 1944 гг. Горки находились под немецкой оккупацией.

раскрыть весь текст

Туристический потенциал - Горки

На протяжении нескольких столетий с момента открытия Белорусской государственной сельскохозяйственной академии - старейшего высшего учебного заведения аграрного направления в странах СНГ и Европы, которое функционирует и по сей день, Горки считались интеллектуальной столицей края. Академия была основана в первой половине XIX в. и сохранила свой статус и авторитет до наших дней. На данный момент при академии функционирует 16 факультетов дневного и заочного отделения, на которых обучаются 15 000 студентов. До наших дней сохранились бывший главный корпус 30-х годов XIX в. в стиле классицизма, несколько корпусов конца XIX — начала XX вв. в стиле эклектики и модерна.

Среди других достопримечательностей, которые обязательно заинтересуют путешественников активно интересующихся историей и культурой Беларуси, стоит отметить построенную в 1863 г. церковь Вознесения в Горках. Храм находится в центральной части города и является памятником архитектуры ретроспективно-русского стиля.

Здание стоматологической поликлиники в Горках представляет собой сохранившийся фрагмент старой, довоенной каменной застройки города конца XIX - начала XX вв. В 2012 г. зданию после реставрации вернули первоначальный облик.

В Горецком районном историко-этнографическом музее гости города могут ознакомиться с историей края, этнографическими особенностями района, жизнью и бытом людей в уездном городе конца XIX – начала XX вв.

В центре города установлен памятник известному земляку - советскому военачальнику, маршалу Советского Союза, дважды Герою Советского Союза И.И.Якубовскому.

раскрыть весь текст

Расположение на карте - Горки

GPS Google: 54.2761039′ N, 30.9867877′ E