ekskursii.by

Belarusian excursion portal

герб

Beshenkovichi

Photo - Beshenkovichi

The population: 6.6 thousand. Status: Small The year of foundation: 1460 Vitebsk region, Beshenkovichy district

Location - Beshenkovichi

Beshenkovichi is the administrative center of the Beshenkovichsky district of the Vitebsk region. The settlement is based on the shores of the Western Dvina. Beshenkovichi is located 51 km from Vitebsk, 83 km from Polotsk and 211 km from Minsk. Beshenkovichi is a major automobile hub. The village is connected by roads with Vitebsk, Shumilino, Ulla, Lepel, Chashniki and Senno.

reveal all text

History of the development - Beshenkovichi

The first written mention of Beshenkovichi dates back to 1447 or 1460 (depending on the source). Scientists suggest that the famous trade route «from the Varangians to the Greeks» passed through the place on Zapadnaya Dvina. Around 1490, the Grand Duke of Lithuania, Kazimir Jagellon, presented the estate of Beshenkovichi to the hereditary possession of Prince Sokolinsky. Beshenkovichi were the patrimony of the princes Drutsk-Sokolinsky for more than 100 years. Until 1504 Beshenkovichi were part of the Principality of Polotsk, and after this date in the Grand Duchy of Lithuania.

From the beginning of the XVII century, Jews began to move en masse to Beshenkovichi, who subsequently constituted the sick part of the village’s population. In 1630, Beshenkovichi bought the Vilna voivode Leo Sapega, during which active development began: the village received the status of a small town, and stone houses began to be built in Beshenkovichi. In the XVII century. In the town, one of the largest marinas on Zapadnaya Dvina was built, which called for sending goods along the river to Riga and back. In Beshenkovichi, two major fairs were held annually, which brought together up to 5,000 people from both the territory of modern Belarus and from Russia and Western Europe. At the end of the century, the place becomes the property of the Oginsky clan.

During the Northern War (1700-1721) in 1708, the Russian army of Peter I quartered in Beshenkovichi. The Russian Tsar visited Beshenkovichi three times. As a result of the First Section of the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth in 1772, the Zadvinsk part of the city was ceded to the Russian Empire. The rest of the city finally became part of Russia in 1793 after the Second Partition. In 1783, Khreptovichi became owners of the Beshenkovichs (on the left side of the Western Dvina), who owned the town until the beginning of the XX century.

During the war of 1812, the French army and Napoleon's headquarters were stationed in Beshenkovichi. In addition, in the vicinity of the town there were several clashes between French troops under the command of Marshal Murat and the Russian army of Barclay de Tolly. From the French Beshenkovichi were released October 20, 1812

In the second half of the XIX century, Beshenkovichi was already a fairly large and developed city. In the town functioned a public school, two tanneries, as well as a brewery, founded back in 1780 by M. Oginsky. This brewery was considered the oldest in Belarus. The main streets of the city were paved, and along the Zapadnaya Dvina through Beshenkovichi from Ulla to Vitebsk steamers regularly went. Most of the population of the city were Jews. By the end of the 19th century, there were five synagogues in Beshenkovichi and there was a Jewish public school.

November 26, 1917 Soviet power was established in Beshenkovichi. In 1924, the Beshenkovichi District was formed, and in 1938 the town received the status of a town settlement. During the Great Patriotic War, the Beshenkovichs were occupied by German troops from July 6, 1941 for three years. During this time, the village was almost completely destroyed. During the occupation, the fascists created a Jewish ghetto in Beshenkovichi, in which about 3,000 people were killed during its existence. From the Nazis Beshenkovichi were liberated June 25, 1944 by the troops of the 1st Baltic Front.

Today Beshenkovichi is a modern district center with developed industrial production. In addition to the factories in the village, there are educational and cultural institutions, a district newspaper is published, there is a bus station and a hotel.

reveal all text

Tourism potential - Beshenkovichi

The palace and park ensemble of Khreptovichs the last owners of the Beshenkovichs, remained in the center of the urban settlement. The palace and park ensemble is a monument of architecture of the era of early classicism. The complex was built in the late XVII - second half of XIX centuries. Construction of the complex was the beginning even under Oginsky. The architectural ensemble consists of a palace, outbuildings and a park with a pond.

Not far from the bank of the Zapadnaya Dvina, the St. Elias Church is located the monument of architecture of the retrospective-Russian style built in 1870. The temple is remarkable because it contains unique icons of the XVII-XIX centuries.

Beshenkovichi has its own museum of local lore. The exposition of which is devoted to the history of the Beshenkovichsky district: the events of 1917, the civil war, the post-war reconstruction period. The main place in the museum is devoted to the section dedicated to the Great Patriotic War: defensive battles in the summer of 1941, the creation and activities of underground organizations and the partisan movement, the liberation of the Beshenkovichi district in 1944.

You can visit Beshenkovichi on the way to Vitebsk or Polotsk.

reveal all text

Location map - Beshenkovichi

GPS Google: 55.0438003′ N, 29.4543991′ E

ekskursii.by

Белорусский экскурсионный портал

герб

Бешенковичи

Фото - Бешенковичи

Население: 6.6 тыс. чел. Статус: Малый Год основания: 1460 Витебская область, Бешенковичский район

Расположение - Бешенковичи

Бешенковичи - административный центр Бешенковичского района Витебской области. Поселок основан на берегах Западной Двины. Бешенковичи расположены в 51 км от Витебска, в 83 км от Полоцка и в 211 км от Минска. Бешенковичи являются крупным автомобильным узлом. Поселок связан дорогами с Витебском, Шумилино, Уллой, Лепелем, Чашниками и Сенно.

раскрыть весь текст

История развития - Бешенковичи

Первое письменное упоминание о Бешенковичах датируется 1447 г. или 1460 г. (в зависимости от источника). Ученые предполагают, что через местечко по Западной Двине проходил знаменитый торговый путь «из варяг в греки». Приблизительно в 1490 г. великий князь литовский Казимир Ягеллон подарил имение Бешенковичи в потомственное владение князю Соколинскому. Бешенковичи являлись вотчиной князей Друцких-Соколинских на протяжении более чем 100 лет. До 1504 г. Бешенковичи входили в состав Полоцкого княжества, а после этой даты в состав Великого княжества Литовского.

С начала XVII столетия в Бешенковичи начали массово переселяться евреи, которые впоследствии составили больную часть населения деревни. В 1630 г. Бешенковичи покупает виленский воевода Лев Сапега, при котором начинается активное развитие: деревня получает статус местечка, а в Бешенковичах начинают возводиться каменные дома. В XVII в. в местечке была построена одна из крупнейших пристаней на Западной Двине, что позвонило отправлять товары по реке в Ригу и обратно. В Бешенковичах ежегодно проходили две крупные ярмарки, на которые съезжалось до 5000 человек как с территории современной Беларуси, так и из России и Западной Европы. В конце столетия местечко переходит в собственность рода Огинских.

Во время Северной войны (1700-1721 гг.) в 1708 г. в Бешенковичах квартировалась русская армия Петра I. Российский царь трижды посещал Бешенковичи. В результате Первого раздела Речи Посполитой 1772 г. задвинская часть города отошла к Российской империи. Оставшаяся часть города окончательно вошла в состав России в 1793 г. после Второго раздела. В 1783 году владельцами Бешенковичей (по левой части Западной Двины) становятся Хрептовичи, которые владели местечком до начала XX века.

Во время войны 1812 г. в Бешенковичах размещалась французская армия и штаб Наполеона. Помимо этого, в окрестностях местечка произошло несколько столкновений между французскими войсками под командованием маршала Мюрата и русской армией Барклая де Толли. От французов Бешенковичи были освобождены 20 октября 1812 г.

Во второй половине XIX века Бешенковичи были уже довольно крупным и развитым городом. В местечке функционировали народное училище, два кожевенных завода, а также пивоварня, основанная еще в 1780 г. М.Огинским. Эта пивоварня считалась самой старой на территории Беларуси. Главные улицы города были мощёными, а по Западной Двине через Бешенковичи из Уллы в Витебск регулярно ходили пароходы. Большую часть населения города составляли евреи. К концу XIX века в Бешенковичах насчитывалось пять синагог и действовало еврейское народное училище.

26 ноября 1917 г. в Бешенковичах была установлена советская власть. В 1924 г. был образован Бешенковичский район, а 1938 г. местечко получило статус городского поселка. В период Великой Отечественной войны Бешенковичи были оккупированы немецкими войсками с 6 июля 1941 г. на протяжении трех лет. За это время поселок был почти полностью разрушен. Во время оккупации фашисты создали в Бешенковичах еврейское гетто, в котором за время его существования погибло около 3000 человек. От гитлеровцев Бешенковичи были освобождены 25 июня 1944 г. войсками 1-го Прибалтийского фронта.

Сегодня Бешенковичи - это современный районный центр с развитым промышленным производством. Помимо заводов в поселке функционируют учреждения образования и культуры, издается районная газета, имеются автовокзал и гостиница.

раскрыть весь текст

Туристический потенциал - Бешенковичи

В центре городского поселка сохранился Дворцово-парковый ансамбль Хрептовичей - последних владельцев Бешенковичей. Дворцово-парковый ансамбль является памятником архитектуры эпохи раннего классицизма. Комплекс возведен в конце XVII - второй половине XIX вв. Строительство комплекса было начало еще при Огинских. Архитектурный ансамбль состоит из дворца, хозяйственных построек и парка с водоемом.

Недалеко от берега Западной Двины расположена Свято-Ильинская церковь - памятник архитектуры ретроспективно-русского стиля 1870 г. постройки. Храм примечателен тем, что в нем хранятся уникальные иконы XVII-XIX вв. «Преподобная Евфросиния Полоцкая», «Тайная вечеря», «Матерь Божья Казанская», «Архангел Михаил».

В Бешенковичах есть собственный краеведческий музей. Экспозиция которого посвящена истории Бешенковичского района: событиям 1917 года, гражданской войны, послевоенного восстановительного периода. Основное место в музее отведено разделу, посвященному Великой Отечественной войне: оборонительным боям летом 1941 года, созданию и деятельности подпольных организаций и партизанского движения, освобождению Бешенковичского района в 1944 году.

Посетить Бешенковичи можно по дороге в Витебск или Полоцк.

раскрыть весь текст

Расположение на карте - Бешенковичи

GPS Google: 55.0438003′ N, 29.4543991′ E