ekskursii.by

Belarusian excursion portal

герб

Vileika

Photo - Vileika

The population: 26 thousand. Status: Average The year of foundation: 1460 Minsk region, Vileika district

Location - Vileika

Vileyka is the administrative center of the Vileyka district of the Minsk region. The city is located on the banks of the river Viliya, not far from the reservoir of the same name, 97 km from Minsk and 111 km from the border with Lithuania. Vileyka is connected by roads to Minsk, Molodechno, Smorgon, Myadel and Dokshitsy. Also, the Molodechno-Polotsk railway passes through the city.

reveal all text

History of the development - Vileika

The first people on the territory of Vileyka District appeared 5 thousand years ago. In the X-XIII centuries. on the territory of the district, there was a peculiar border between the Baltic tribes and the Polotsk princedom. The first written mention of Vileyka dates from 1460. Until the XVII century. the settlement was called Stary Kurenets. In 1793, as a result of the Second Partition of the Commonwealth, Vileyka became part of the Russian Empire. The main occupations of the inhabitants of the city were agriculture and river navigation. Across Vilia and further along the Neman, timber and agricultural products were exported to Europe. Every year major trade fairs were held in Vileyka. The volume of trade at urban fairs began to decline only by the end of the XIX century.

At the beginning of the XIX century, the city was subjected to a terrible fire, as well as the destruction caused by Vileyka during the war of 1812. After that, a large-scale reconstruction was carried out in the city and the old buildings were completely replaced. At the end of the XIX century. About 3,500 people lived in the city, most of whom were Jewish. During the First World War (1914-1918) in 1915, Vileyka was occupied by German troops for some time. Again, the German army occupied the city in 1918. As a result of the Riga Peace Treaty of 1921, Vileyka, as part of Western Belarus, became part of Poland, where it remained until the autumn of 1939. From autumn 1939, the city became part of the BSSR. During the Great Patriotic War, the Vileyka district was occupied by the German fascist invaders. During this time, the Nazis destroyed about 15,000 people.

reveal all text

Tourism potential - Vileika

Vileyka is an interesting region with a rich tourist potential. In the vicinity of the city laid several excursion routes. Also, a water expedition «Shlyakham Tyshkevich», dedicated to the expedition of Count Konstantin Tyshkevich in the Vileika district, passes through Vileika. Every year historians, local historians and tourists take part in the event. The city itself also has several attractions. For example, the Church of St. Mary of Egypt is a monument of the retrospective-Russian style, erected in 1816.

Not far from the shores of Viliya is the Holy Cross Church is a monument of Neo-Romanesque architecture with neo-Gothic features, built in the early twentieth century. The city also has a museum of local lore whose exposition reflects the history and culture of the Vileyka region from ancient times to the second half of the twentieth century. Not far from Vileyka, in the village of Zabrodye, a unique open-air museum of the same name has been created, where antiquities are collected, the memory of the events of the past days is being revived and evidence of the First World War is preserved. The most beautiful and large exhibit in this unique museum is the Borisoglebskaya chapel restored in 2003. Also on the territory of the open-air museum there is an extensive collection of Soviet retrotechnology.

reveal all text

Location map - Vileika

GPS Google: 54.4981002′ N, 26.9192008′ E

ekskursii.by

Белорусский экскурсионный портал

герб

Вилейка

Фото - Вилейка

Население: 26 тыс. чел. Статус: Средний Год основания: 1460 Минская область, Вилейский район

Расположение - Вилейка

Вилейка - административный центр Вилейского района Минской области. Город расположен на берегу реки Вилия, неподалеку от одноименного водохранилища в 97 км от Минска и в 111 км от границы с Литвой. Вилейка соединена автомобильными дорогами с Минском, Молодечно, Сморгонью, Мяделем и Докшицами. Также через город проходит железная дорога Молодечно - Полоцк.

раскрыть весь текст

История развития - Вилейка

Первые люди на территории Вилейского района появились еще 5 тыс. лет назад. В X-XIII вв. на территории района проходила своеобразная граница между балтийскими племенами и Полоцким княжеством. Первое письменное упоминание о Вилейке датируется 1460 г. До XVII в. поселение носило название Старый Куренец. В 1793 г. в результате Второго раздела Речи Посполитой Вилейка вошла в состав Российской империи. Основными занятиями жителей города являлись земледелие и речное судоходство. По Вилии и далее по Неману в Европу вывозили лес и продукты земледелия. Ежегодно в Вилейке проводились крупные торговые ярмарки. Объёмы торговли на городских ярмарках начали спадать только к концу XIX в.

В начале XIX столетия город подвергся страшному пожару, также разрушениям, нанесенным Вилейке в ходе войны 1812 г. После чего в городе была проведена масштабная реконструкция и полностью заменена старая застройка. В концу XIX в. в городе проживало около 3500 человек, большая часть из которых были евреями. Во время Первой мировой войны (1914-1918 гг.) в 1915 г. Вилейка была некоторое время оккупирована немецкими войсками. Снова германская армия заняла город в 1918 г. В результате Рижского мирного договора 1921 г. Вилейка, как часть Западной Беларуси, вошла в состав Польши, где находилась до осени 1939 г. С осени 1939 г. город вошел в состав БССР. В годы Великой Отечественной войны Вилейский район был оккупирован немецко-фашистскими захватчиками. За это время гитлеровцами было уничтожено около 15 000 человек.

Сегодня Вилейка - это современный районный центр, в котором функционируют многочисленные образовательные и культурные учреждения, выходят два печатных издания и работает местный новостной интернет-портал.

раскрыть весь текст

Туристический потенциал - Вилейка

Вилейка - интересный регион с богатым туристическим потенциалом. В окрестностях города проложено несколько экскурсионных маршрутов. Также через Вилейку проходит водная экспедиция «Шляхам Тышкевіча», посвященная экспедиции графа Константина Тышкевича по Вилейскому району. Ежегодно в мероприятии принимают участие историки, краеведы и туристы. В самом городе также имеется несколько достопримечательностей. Например, церковь Св. Марии Египетской - памятник ретроспективно-русского стиля, возведенный в 1816 г.

Недалеко от берегов Вилии стоит Крестовоздвиженский костел - памятник архитектуры неороманского стиля с чертами неоготики, построенный в начале ХХ века. Также в городе действует краеведческий музей, экспозиция которого отражает историю и культуру Вилейского края от древнейших времен до второй половины ХХ века. Недалеко от Вилейки, в деревне Забродье создан уникальный одноименный музей под открытым небом, где собраны экспонаты старины, возрождается память о событиях минувших дней и сохранены свидетельства Первой Мировой войны. Самым красивым и большим экспонатом в этом уникальном музее является восстановленная в 2003 г. Борисоглебская часовня. Также на территории музея под открытым небом собрана обширная коллекция советской ретротехники.

раскрыть весь текст

Расположение на карте - Вилейка

GPS Google: 54.4981002′ N, 26.9192008′ E