ekskursii.by

Belarusian excursion portal

Spaso-Preobrazhenskaya Church in Rakov

To book a tour

Type: Churches, Pilgrimage places Style: Baroque Date of Foundation: 1735 - 1793 yy Status: Republican value Republic of Belarus, Minsk region, Volozhin district, v. Rakov (not far rom the village)

Spaso-Preobrazhenskaya Church is one of the major architectural sights of ancient Rakov - a small village situated 35 km to north-west of Minsk. The temple was founded in 1735 with the blessing of Metropolitan of Kiev Athanasius Sheptytskogo on the territory of Uniate monastery of Bazilyans (Vasilyans). The abbot of the monastery Adrian Papkovsky founded in Rakov a brotherhood in the name of the Holy Pious Anna. Later the works of construction of Spaso-Preobrazhenskaya Church were started here with the help of brotherhood and with the support of the owner of Rakov - Grand Duke Casimir Sangushko. But the construction had been lasting for many years. The main works were finished only in 1793, almost 60 years after the beginning of construction. On 16th September, 1793 the church was consecrated in honor of the Transfiguration of Jesus.

In 1839 the monastery was abolished and the church began functioning as a parish. In 47 years, on the 25-year anniversary of the abolition of serfdom in Belarus a brama-belfry was built in front of the church. The majestic and spacious church is decorated with an antique church chandelier that was bought in 1899 with parishioners money. Also the part of the sum sent All-Russian Pastor, holy pious John of Kronstadt, the Miracle-Worker.

Today Spaso-Preobrazhenskaya Church is a rectangular church. Chapel of St. Nicholas adjoins to it on the south side where there is an altar. On the north side you can see a vestry. Initially, the main facade of the church consisted of two towers. But when a temple became Orthodox Church and had some reconstruction works, the towers were demolished also as a cupola. And Spaso-Preobrazhenskaya Church got its modern look.

In the church there is a revered icon, called «Afonskaya» by parishioners. It is the list from the icon of the Mother of God «Akafistskaya» or «Predvozvestitelnitsa». It was presented to the church in 1910 as a gift from the monks of Mount Athos at the request of Pastor Constantine Okolovich. The list was made by the monks of Mount Athos on a cypress board where the monks put a particle of the Holy Cross, a stone from the tomb of the Blessed Virgin, small parts of relics of St. Gregory Palamas and New George.

Spaso-Preobrazhenskaya Church is considered one of the best temples of the diocese of Minsk.

reveal all text

Photo - Spaso-Preobrazhenskaya Church in Rakov

Individual and corporate excursions - Spaso-Preobrazhenskaya Church in Rakov

Location map - Spaso-Preobrazhenskaya Church in Rakov

Address Republic of Belarus, Minsk region, Volozhin district, v. Rakov (not far rom the village) GPS Google: 53.967214′ N, 27.058361′ E

ekskursii.by

Белорусский экскурсионный портал

Раковская Спасо-Преображенская церковь

Заказать экскурсию

Тип: Церкви, Места поломничества Стиль: барокко Дата основания: 1735 - 1793 гг Статус: Республиканского значения Республика Беларусь, Минская область, Воложинский р-н, д. Раков (в окрестностях)

Спасо-Преображенская церковь - одна из главных архитектурных достопримечательностей старинного местечка Раков - небольшой деревни, расположенной в 35 км к северу-западу от Минска. Основание храма было заложено в 1735 году по благословению киевского митрополита Афанасия Шептыцкого при униатском монастыре Базильян (Васильян). Настоятель монастыря о. Адриан Папковский основал в Ракове братство во имя святой Праведной Анны. С помощью братства и при поддержке владельца Ракова - князя Казимира Сангушки здесь начали возводить большой каменный храм. Строительство затянулось на долгие годы. Основные работы были закончины в 1793 году, почти через 60 лет после начала строительства. 16 сентября храм был освящен в честь Преображения Господня.

В 1839 году монастырь был упразден, и церковь стала действовать как приходская. Через 47 лет, в 25-летнюю годовщину отмены крепостного права в Беларуси, перед храмом была построена брама-звонница. Величественный и просторный храм украшен старинным паникадилом, который приобрели на собранные прихожанами средства в 1899 году. Часть денег была прислана Всероссийским пастырем, святым праведным Иоанном Кронштадтским, чудотворцем.

Сегодня Спасо-Преображенская церковь представляет собой прямоугольный храм. С южной стороны к нему примыкает Никольская часовня, где находится алтарь, с северной стороны - ризница. Первоначально на главном фасаде церкви находились две башни. Однако при перестройке храма под православную церковь их разобрали, убрали купол, и Спасо-Преображенская церковь преобрела свой современный вид.

В храме находится почитаемая прихожанами икона, которую называют «Афонской». Это список с иконы Божией Матери «Акафистской» или «Предвозвестительницы», переданный в 1910 году в дар Спасо-Преображенской церкви монахами Горы Афон по просьбе тогдашнего настоятеля храма о. Константина Околовича. Список был сделан монахами Святой Горы на кипарисовой доске, в которую вложили частицу Животворящего Креста Господня, камешек от гроба Пресвятой Богородицы, частицы мощей свщм. Харалампия, свт. Григория Паламы, мч. Георгия Нового.

По своему убранству и благолепию Раковская церковь вошла в число наилучших храмов Минской епархии.

раскрыть весь текст

Фото - Раковская Спасо-Преображенская церковь

Индивидуальные и корпоративные экскурсии - Раковская Спасо-Преображенская церковь

Расположение на карте - Раковская Спасо-Преображенская церковь

Адрес Республика Беларусь, Минская область, Воложинский р-н, д. Раков (в окрестностях) GPS Google: 53.967214′ N, 27.058361′ E