ekskursii.by

Belarusian excursion portal

герб

Chechersk

Photo - Chechersk

The population: 8 thousand. Status: Average The year of foundation: 1159 Gomel region, Chechersk district

Location - Chechersk

Chechersk is the administrative center of the Chechersk District of the Gomel Region. Located 70 km north of Gomel at the confluence of the river Chechora into the river Sozh. The distance to Minsk is 305 km, to the border with the Russian Federation is 37 km, to the border with Ukraine is 120 km.

reveal all text

History of the development - Chechersk

The first people settled 26 thousand years ago on the territory of the modern Chechersk district. In the VIII century. AD the area was inhabited by the Slavic tribe Radimichi. The data of the archaeological excavations confirm the fact that modern Chechersk was an offshoot on the way "from the Varangians to the Greeks." The first written mention of the city dates back to 1159 (Ipatiev Chronicle) and is associated with the name of Kiev Prince Oleg, who, in connection with the death of his father Svyatoslav, passed the city.

During its existence, Chechersk was part of the Chernigov, Kiev principalities. Until the middle of the XIV century. the city became part of the Grand Duchy of Lithuania. Chechersk more than once was subjected to devastating destruction and fire. According to some information, in 1510 a wooden town hall was built in Chechersk, which indicates that the city had the right to self-government.

Since 1772, Chechersk became part of the Russian Empire as a result of the First Division of the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth. Catherine II presented the city to Count Z.G.Chernyshev, under whose administration Chechersk began to develop actively. During this period, a unique architectural ensemble of a stone town hall, a Catholic church and three Orthodox churches appeared in the city. There was a distillery and a serf theater. In 1787, Empress Catherine II visited Chechersk. In addition, through the city in 1820 and 1824. AS drove by Pushkin, when he rode and returned from his southern exile.

Since 1919, Chechersk became part of the RSFSR, and since 1926 - in the BSSR. After the start of the Great Patriotic War, the territory of the Chechersk District was occupied by the Nazis in August 1941. During the war years, a partisan brigade operated in the region. Chechersk was liberated from the Nazi invaders in the summer of 1944 during a strategic offensive operation to liberate Belarus.

The Chechersk District did not avoid the accident at the Chernobyl NPP in 1986. As a result, 43 settlements ceased to exist on the territory of the district, forests and agricultural land became useless, and almost 4,000 families were evicted.
Today the city continues to evolve. There are enterprises, educational and cultural institutions.

reveal all text

Tourism potential - Chechersk

Chechersk is part of the tourist route «The Golden Ring of the Gomel Region». The city has preserved some historical and cultural objects. In particular, the Chechersk Town Hall is an architectural monument of the end of the XVIIIth century. Today in the town hall there is a historical-ethnographic museum. The exposition of the museum is represented by several exhibition halls telling about the history of the region from the time when Chechersk was incorporated into the Russian Empire before the Chernobyl disaster. In addition, the exhibition presents traditional items of the Iron Age found during the excavations at the Berdyzh site (26 thousand years ago), samples of the Chechersk school icon painting, as well as an ethnographic hall where you can see traditional crafts are pottery, weaving, woodworking.

The monument of classicism architecture is the Transfiguration Church of the end of the XVIIIth century XVIII, which is a bunk rotunda with a hemispherical dome. The interior of the church is decorated with paintings by Italian masters. A small brick building, decorated with paintings and wooden platbands is the current distillery, built in the late XIX - early XX centuries.

Chechersk is a small town in eastern Belarus, which, despite its poor tourist potential, may be of interest to travelers. In addition to cultural institutions and historical sights, the city has a cafe, restaurant and hotel, which can comfortably accommodate a traveler.

reveal all text

Location map - Chechersk

GPS Google: 52.9184989′ N, 30.9160995′ E

ekskursii.by

Белорусский экскурсионный портал

герб

Чечерск

Фото - Чечерск

Население: 8 тыс. чел. Статус: Средний Год основания: 1159 Гомельская область, Чечерский район

Расположение - Чечерск

Чечерск - административный центр Чечерского района Гомельской области. Расположен в 70 км к северу от Гомеля на месте впадении реки Чечора в реку Сож. Расстояние до г. Минска составляет 305 км, до границы с Российской Федерацией - 37 км, до границы с Украиной - 120 км.

раскрыть весь текст

История развития - Чечерск

На территории современного Чечерского района первые люди поселились еще 26 тыс. лет назад. В VIII в. н.э. местность была заселена славянским племенем Радимичей. Данные археологических раскопок подтверждают тот факт, что современный Чечерск являлся ответвлением на пути «из варяг в греки». Первое письменное упоминание о городе датируется 1159 г. (Ипатьевская летопись) и связано с именем киевского князя Олега, которому в связи со смертью его отца Святослава перешел город.

За время своего существования Чечерск входил в состав Черниговского, Киевского княжеств. До середины XIV в. город вошел в состав Великого княжества Литовского. Чечерск не раз подвергался опустошительным разрушениям и пожарам. По некоторым данным в 1510 г. в Чечерске была построена деревянная ратуша, что свидетельствует о том, что город имел право на самоуправление.

С 1772 г. Чечерск вошел в состав Российской империи в результате Первого раздела Речи Посполитой. Екатерина II подарила город графу З.Г.Чернышеву, под управлением которого Чечерск начал активно развиваться. В этот период в городе появился уникальный архитектурный ансамбль из каменной ратуши, католического костела и трех православных церквей. Действовали винокурня и крепостной театр. В 1787 г. в Чечерске побывала императрица Екатерина II. Кроме того, через город в 1820 и 1824 гг. проезжал А.С. Пушкин, когда ехал и возвращался из своей южной ссылки.

С 1919 г. Чечерск вошел в состав РСФСР, а с 1926 г. - в БССР. После начала Великой Отечественной войны территория Чечерского района была занята гитлеровцами в августе 1941 г. В годы войны на территории района действовала партизанская бригада. От немецко-фашистских захватчиков Чечерск был освобожден летом 1944 г. в ходе стратегической наступательной операции по освобождению Беларуси.

Чечерский район не обошла стороной авария на Чернобыльской АЭС 1986 г. В результате на территории района прекратили свое существование 43 населенных пункта, леса и сельскохозяйственные угодья пришли в негодность, а почти 4 000 семей были выселены.
Сегодня город продолжает развиваться. Функционируют предприятия, учреждения образования и культуры.

раскрыть весь текст

Туристический потенциал - Чечерск

Чечерск входит в туристический маршрут «Золотое кольцо Гомельщины». В городе сохранились некоторые историко-культурные объекты. В частности - Чечерская ратуша - памятник архитектуры конца XVIII в. Сегодня в здании ратуши располагается историко-этнографический музей. Экспозиция музея представлена несколькими выставочными залами, рассказывающими об истории края со времени вхождения Чечерска в состав Российской империи до Чернобыльской катастрофы. Кроме того, в экспозиции представлены традиционные предметы быта железного века, найденные при раскопках стоянки Бердыж (26 тыс. лет назад), представлены образцы иконописи Чечерской школы, а также работает зал этнографии, в котором можно увидеть изделия традиционных ремесел - гончарства, ткачества, деревообработки.

Памятник архитектуры классицизма - Спасо-Преображенская церковь конца XVIII в. представляющая собой двухъярусную ротонду с полусферическим куполом. Интерьер церкви украшен росписями итальянских мастеров. Небольшое кирпичное здание, украшенное росписью и деревянными резными наличниками на окнах является действующей винокурней, построенной в конце XIX - начале XX вв.

Чечерск - небольшой городок на востоке Беларуси, который, несмотря на небогатый туристический потенциал, может заинтересовать путешественников. Помимо культурных учреждений и исторических достопримечательностей в городе функционируют кафе, ресторан и гостиница, в которой с комфортом может разместиться путник.

раскрыть весь текст

Расположение на карте - Чечерск

GPS Google: 52.9184989′ N, 30.9160995′ E