ekskursii.by

Belarusian excursion portal

Вarrow

To book a tour

Type: Archaeological monuments, Cemeteries, burial places, chapels Date of Foundation: 1 century Status: Without a category Republic of Belarus, Minsk, avenue of the newspaper Zvyazda

This barrow - one of the oldest barrow in Belarus. Barrow has a height of four meters with a diameter of twenty meters of the embankment. He was once located on the dominant height of the surrounding area and the previously well-viewed from all sides. Now he is surrounded by residential houses. He left in its original form as a vivid monument to antiquity. At the beginning of the XX century there were several hundred burial mounds.

The mounds of the population of calls in different ways. In Vitebsk region to date can be heard locally called mounds «volotovki». It is connected with the ancient notion that if people are buried in the mounds of huge stature and strength - ”voloty” - heroes. In Gomel region mounds called «kapcy». But their most common name in Belarus, ”French” or ”Swedish graves”. In fact, the mounds have no relation to the Swedes, Frenchmen or other foreigners. This disposal of the Slavs, the memory of our distant ancestors, who lived here, worked, fought many centuries ago.

Mounds are one, two, but most is in the cemeteries, where they are, there are dozens or even hundreds.

The people of those ancient times believed that after death he needs all of what he enjoyed during his lifetime. Soldier laid in the grave weapon craftsman - an ax, molds or finished products, the woman - needles, jewelry, pots. Believed that the next world they would need a variety of tools, utensils, even the food in pots.

For some of these things and has been identified by scientists, archeologists, and the boundary between Kriviches and Dregovichi in Belarus.

This is a single mound, believed to be poured at a time when the Belarusian land has come to Christianity. The Church forbade pagan rite persistently dumping is not allowed to put things into the grave, pour it over the mound. Despite this, the population, especially in the villages during the XI - XIII centuries continued to bury the dead under barrows.

reveal all text

Photo - Вarrow

Location map - Вarrow

Address Republic of Belarus, Minsk, avenue of the newspaper Zvyazda GPS Google: 53.860823′ N, 27.462484′ E

ekskursii.by

Белорусский экскурсионный портал

Курган

Заказать экскурсию

Тип: Археологические памятники, Кладбища, захоронения, часовни Дата основания: 1 век Статус: Без категории Республика Беларусь, г. Минск, пр. газеты Звязда

Данный курган - один из древнейших курганов на Беларуси. Курган имеет высоту четыре метра при диаметре насыпи двадцать метров. Он располагался когда-то на господствующей высоте окружающей местности и ранее хорошо просматривался со всех сторон. Сейчас его окружают жилые дома. Оставлен он в своем первоначальном виде как наглядный памятник глубокой древности. В начале XX века здесь было курганов несколько сотен.

Курганные могильники население называет по-разному. На Витебщине до настоящего времени можно услышать местное название курганов «волотовки». Оно связано с древним представлением о том, что будто бы в курганах похоронены люди огромного роста и силы — «волоты», т.е. богатыри. На Гомельщине курганы называют «капцами». Но самое распространенное их название на Беларуси «французские» или «шведские могилы». На самом деле погребальные курганы не имеют никакого отношения к шведам, французам или к другим чужеземцам. Это захоронения славян, память о наших далеких предках, которые здесь жили, трудились, сражались много столетий тому назад.

Курганы расположены по одному, по два, но большинство находится на могильниках, где их насчитывается десятки и даже сотни.

Люди тех далеких времен верили, что и после смерти человека ему необходимо все то, чем он пользовался при жизни. Воину в могилу клали оружие, ремесленнику – топор, литейные формы или готовые изделия, женщине – иголки, украшения, горшки. Верили, что на том свете им могли понадобиться различные орудия труда, домашняя утварь, даже еда в горшках.

По некоторым из этих вещей и была учеными-археологами определена граница между кривичами и дреговичами на территории Беларуси.

Этот одиночный курган, как полагают, насыпан в то время, когда на белорусские земли уже пришло христианство. Церковь упорно запрещала языческий обряд захоронения, не разрешала класть в могилу вещи, насыпать над ней курган. Несмотря на это, население, особенно в деревнях, в течение XI – XIII вв. продолжало хоронить умерших под курганами.

раскрыть весь текст

Фото - Курган

Расположение на карте - Курган

Адрес Республика Беларусь, г. Минск, пр. газеты Звязда GPS Google: 53.860823′ N, 27.462484′ E