ekskursii.by

Belarusian excursion portal

Pinsk castle archaeological site

To book a tour

Type: Archaeological monuments Date of Foundation: 13 century Status: Regional value Republic of Belarus, Brest region., Pinsk, Lenin Street

Pinsk is one of the cities where it was difficult to recover details the historical topography. Studying of city began in the late 50s and early 60s of this century when people not clarified the typical conditions of the location of ancient cities. Besides the reconstruction of the ancient center in Pinsk ahead knowledge and destroyed the terrain and the remains of ancient fortifications. It makes difficult to localize elements of the ancient city at the present a modified relief. This led to the fact that even experienced archaeologists could not exactly tied to the individual elements of the ancient city area.

To determine the location of the citadel and the roundabout of the ancient Pinsk was used city plan 1794 that revealed in 1965 in Moscow in the Central State Military Historical Archive. At that plan you could to view not only the general outline of the planning structure of the ancient city, but the remains of ancient fortifications also.

Citadel is most fortified center of the city. It had a rounded shape and measures approximately 97x74 yards (194x148 m, approximately 10767 square meters). But the legend made up to this plan, it is referred to as «ruined castles». Citadel could control navigation on the Pripyat River in the south to Volyn, west up the Pina and the east - down the Pripyat after its merger with Pina. This control function was the primary when choosing a place of erection of the ancient citadel of Pinsk, on the left bank of the sublime river Pipa.

On the citadel located Demetrius Church.

Defensive moat citadel covers like horseshoe citadel from the west, north and east and is supported at both ends on the river Pina. First its depth is unknown. Judging by the width of the pit, he greatly enhanced defensive capabilities citadel. At present, the western section of the bottom of the pit of the citadel passes Str.Tchaikovsky. The slopes of the citadel and the roundabout of the city, separated by a moat, built up, plowed gardens, reflect on the general outlines of the elements of the ancient city on this site. But in ancient times, obviously defensive ramparts with bulk structures towered around the perimeter of the citadel ( «Castle» ). Perhaps, on the south side, they were not as powerful as in the north, the floor side, because the southern side of the additional means of defense served as the river itself.

Roundabout ancient city of Pinsk has a wide arc outside the citadel defensive ditch, leaning on river Pina its western and eastern ends. Western section of the roundabout of the city is within the Street. A.M. Gorky and his outer slopes are easily traced on the eastern side of the southern section of the street, adjacent to the territory of the shipyard. Even today day surface city roundabout 3-4 m rises above the street. Gorky laid strewn on the defensive moat city roundabout. The northern section of the city occupied the space of the roundabout to the north of the citadel defensive ditch and extended to the northern limits pl. Lenin, without reaching the street Gorky.

Projecting a modern city plan is a change of the relief on the plan in 1794, we also get the opportunity to define the eastern limits of the city roundabout in the eastern part of today's square Lenin. Confirm the location of the eastern borders of the roundabout at the eastern edge of the town square. Lenin posts written sources in 1649 in one of them mentioned that the eastern side of the territory near the town roundabout Jesuit College was accessible only by a bridge, pass through the defensive ditch. Mention defensive moat and bridge over it in 1649 confirms the assumption that the eastern border of the city roundabout.

Trading quarter ancient Pinsk semicircle covered roundabout city, extending in an easterly direction. Focusing on the modern city street network, it can be said that trading quarter was situated within the street Zavalnaya. The name of the street suggests that it was held for the shaft, the ancient fortifications - the shaft and the moat, which restricted settlement with the west and north sides of the city. On the eastern side Posad limited defensive ditch at the bottom of which is currently in st. Rovetskaya.

Priority development - increment the city took place along the river. Pina - main traffic and economic artery linking citizens with the agricultural districts, land on which are also carried out trade relations with distant countries and regions. In addition, close the river was a convenient source of water supply to the citizens of their domestic and industrial needs.

Focusing on the modern street network of Pinsk , it must be said that trading quarter ancient Pinsk (up to the XVII century. ), located inside the arc formed by the street Zavalnaya . The name of the street Zavalnaya connect to its location for the shaft of urban fortifications.

So, XVIII in topographical plans reconstructed historical topography of ancient Pinsk, consisting of three main component parts - the citadel, roundabout city.

Confirmation of such a reconstruction can be seen in the description of an ancient Pinsk in 1896 AI Milovidov:

«On the left bank of the river. Pina, within the modern city - the remains of ancient Pinsk, first mentioned in chronicles in 1097. According to archaeological observations and old plans, citadel of Pinsk (an area of about 2 hectares) rounded shape was fortified rampart and ditch. His semicircle covered detour town (the area to 4 hectares), also surrounded by a moat and shaft. The excavations revealed numerous wooden houses, decking the streets and courtyards, palisades estates, assembled a diverse collection of ancient weapons, tools, jewelry, objects of everyday use, glazed ceramic tiles. Found inscriptions on pots and slate whorl. The settlement appeared in Pinsk in the second half of XI century.

In relations with the rural districts of the administrative and fiscal functions of the city decisively prevail over economic. Raw materials and food products coming into the city from the countryside, is not counterbalanced by any significant counter- flow products urban artisans. Recent work mostly on demand, rather than on the market. The city's economy was focused on the satisfaction of his own needs.

The small city is characterized by the same attributes (large share of suburban, handicraft and trade, population, the presence of feudal landowners and representatives of the administration, the presence of churches and fortifications ), and that a major capital city. Princes attract permanent residency masters of different specialties.

In contrast to the large urban centers, small towns Rus streets were usually no wider than 4 m. Wooden streets decking ( log of slabs - timbers or poles ) found during excavations of Turov, Pinsk, David-Township... The link to the city building served as a street running along the inner perimeter fortifications. As in cities often had only one gate, which depart from one or two streets crossing the city. Sometimes arranged extra lanes branch off to the side of the main street.

Several other cities had street system, located on distinct headlands at the confluence of two rivers. It is among them were future major centers of the late Middle Ages to the radial-circular layout. Natural growth point of the city was Detinets-Kremlin, wedged in a triangle between the two water hazards. In Detinets or right under its walls, almost a fairly limited area, and housed the prince's court, and the Cathedral, and bargaining. The Kremlin became the sole focus of the most important functions of the city. The growth of the urban area was at first only possible in the opposite direction of the arrow Cape. And new fortifications semicircles shafts cut from it new areas. Communication with the center - rays carried out on the streets, fan diverges from the Kremlin. The old dilapidated walls and understood. In their place are formed freely from building driveways.

A significant part of the city occupied by the courts, were in the property of citizens. Manor courtyard with its residential and farm buildings, fences and palisades separated from the outside world, is the primary cell of the plurality of which formed the city.

Once established estates boundaries have not changed for centuries. These observations lead to several conclusions. First, the constancy of urban manor borders shows the character of private land holdings in the city. Second, citizens are landowners Corporation, which collectively owns the city. Herein lies the social basis of the urban system of Russia. Thirdly, once the selected resistance yard points to their direct link with the organization of inner-city life. Otherwise, they would have to break up several children in inheritance or the sale in parts.

Now we known it for the archaeological excavation of the estate in small towns of Russia had sizes from 200-250 to 800-1000 sqm. m.»

reveal all text

Location map - Pinsk castle archaeological site

Address Republic of Belarus, Brest region., Pinsk, Lenin Street GPS Google: 52.114557′ N, 26.111391′ E

ekskursii.by

Белорусский экскурсионный портал

Пинское городище археологический памятник

Заказать экскурсию

Тип: Археологические памятники Дата основания: 13 век Статус: Регионального значения Республика Беларусь, Брестская обл., г. Пинск, ул. Ленина

Пинск относится к числу городов, детальную историческую топографию которых восстановить было довольно сложно. Ее изучение начиналось в конце 50—начале 60-х г нашего столетия, когда еще не были выяснены типичные условия место­положения древнерусских городов. К тому же начавшаяся бурная реконструкция древнего центра в Пинске зачастую опережала его изучение и уничтожала (или повреждала) рельеф местности и остатки древних оборонительных сооружений, что затрудняло локализацию элементов древнего города на современном видоизмененном рельефе. Это приводило к тому, что даже опытные археологи не могли точно привязать к местности отдельные элементы древнего города.

Для определения местоположениядетинца и окольного города древнего Пинска использовался  план города 1794 г., выявленный в 1965 г. в Москве в фондах Центрального государственного военно-исторического архива. На этом плане просматривались не только общие очертания планировочной структуры древнего города, но и остатки древних оборонительных сооружений.

Детинец наиболее укрепленная центральная часть города. Имел округлую форму и размеры приблизительно 97x74 саженей (194x148 м, т.е. приблизительно 10767 кв.м). Но в легенде, составленной к этому плану, он обозначается, как «развалившиеся замки».  Детинец мог контролировать судоходство по Припяти на юг на Волынь, на запад вверх по Пине и на восток — вниз по Припяти после ее слияния с Пиной. Очевидно, эта контрольная функция и была основной при выборе места возведения детинца древнего Пинска на левом возвышен­ном берегу р. Пипы.

На детинце располагалась Дмитриевская церковь.

Оборонительный ров детинца подковой охватывает детинец с запада, севера и востока и опирается обоими концами на р. Пину. Первоначальная его глубина неизвестна. Судя по ширине рва, он значительно усиливал оборонительные возможности детинца. В настоящее время по дну западного участка рва детинца проходит ул. П. И. Чайковского. Склоны детинца и окольного города, разделенные рвом, застроены, распаханы огородами, по отражают общие очертания этих элементов древнего города на этом участке. Но в древности, очевидно, оборонительные земляные валы с навальными сооружения­ми возвышались по всему периметру детинца («замка»). Возможно, с южной стороны они не были столь мощными, как с северной, напольной стороны, потому что с южной стороны дополнительным оборонительным средством служила сама река.

Окольный город древнего Пинска располагался широкой дугой за пределами оборонительного рва детинца, опираясь на р. Пину своими западным и восточным концами. Западный участок окольного города находится в пределах ул. A.M. Горького, и его внешние склоны хорошо прослеживаются на восточной стороне южного участка улицы, примыкающего к территории судоремонтного завода. Еще сейчас дневная поверхность окольного города на 3—4 м возвышается над уровнем ул. Горького, проложенной по засыпанному оборонительному рву окольного города. Северный участок окольного города занимал пространство к северу от оборонительного рва детинца и простирался на северные пределы пл. Ленина, не достигая ул. Горького.

Проецируя на современный план города это изменение рельефа на плане 1794 г., мы также получаем возможность определить восточные пределы окольного города в восточной части современной пл. Ленина. Подтверждают расположение восточных границ окольного города у восточного края пл. Ленина сообщения письменных источников 1649 г. В одном из них упоминается о том, что с восточной стороны на территорию окольного города возле иезуитского коллегиума можно было попасть только по мосту, проходившему через оборонительный ров. Упоминание оборонительного рва и моста через него в 1649 г. подтверждает предположение о восточной границе окольного города.

Посад древнего Пинска полукольцом охватывал окольный город, расширяясь в восточном направлении. Ориентируясь на современную уличную сеть города, можно сказать, что посад располагался в пределах ул. Завальной. Само название улицы говорит о том, что она проходила за валом, за древними оборонительными сооружениями — валом и рвом, которые ограничивали посад с западной и северной сторон города. С восточной стороны посад ограничивал оборонительный ров, по дну которого в настоящее время проходит ул. Ровецкая.

Преимущественное развитие-приращение города происходило вдоль р. Пины — основной транспортной и хозяйственной магистрали, связывавшей горожан с сельскохозяйственной округой, угодьями, по которой также осуществлялись торговые связи и с отдаленными странами и регионами. К тому же близкая река была удобным источником водоснабжения горожан в их бытовых и производственных потребностях.

Ориентируясь на современную уличную сеть г. Пинска, следует сказать, что посад древнего Пинска (до XVII в.) располагался внутри дуги, образованной ул. Завальной. Само название ул. Завальной связано с ее расположением за валом городских оборонительных сооружений.

Так, по топографическим планам XVIII в. реконструируется историческая топография древнего Пинска, состоявшая из трех основных составляющих частей — детинца, окольного города, посада.

Подтверждение подобной реконструкции можно видеть в описании древнего Пинска в 1896 г. А. И. Миловидовым:

«На левом берегу р. Пина, в черте современного города — остатки древнерусского Пинска, впервые упомянутого в летописи под 1097 г. По данным археологических наблюдений и старым планам, детинец Пинска (площадь около 2 га) округлой формы был укреплен валом и рвом. Его полукольцом охватывал окольный город (площадь до 4 га), также обнесенный валом и рвом. При раскопках вскрыты многочисленные деревянные постройки, настилы улиц и дворов, частоколы усадеб, собрана разнообразная коллекция древнерусского оружия, орудий труда, украшений, предметов бытового обихода, поливных керамических плиток. Найдены надписи на корчаге и шиферном пряслице. Поселение в Пинске возникло во второй половине XI в.

В отношениях с сельской округой административно-фискальные функции города решительно преобладают над экономическими. Сырье и продукты питания, поступавшие в город из деревни, не уравновешивались сколько-нибудь значительным встречным потоком изделий городских ремесленников. Последние работали в большинстве своем на заказ, а не на рынок. Экономика города была ориентирована на удовлетворение его собственных потребностей.

Малым городам свойственны те же признаки (большой удельный вес посадского, ремесленно-торгового, населения; присутствие феодалов-землевладельцев и представителей администрации; наличие церквей и укреплений), что и крупным стольным городам. Князья привлекают сюда на постоянное жительство мастеров различных специальностей.

В отличие от крупных городских центров, в малых городах Руси улицы были, как правило, не шире 4 м. Деревянные настилы улиц (бревенчатые, из горбылей-плах или жердей) найдены при раскопках Турова, Пинска, Давид-Городка… Связующим звеном в городской застройке служила улица, идущая по внутреннему периметру оборонительных сооружений. Поскольку в таких городах чаще всего имелись лишь одни ворота, от них отходили одна-две улицы, пересекавшие город. Иногда устраивались дополнительные переулки, ответвлявшиеся в стороны от основных улиц.

Несколько иной была система улиц городов, расположенных на ярко выраженных мысах при слиянии двух рек. Именно среди них оказались будущие крупные центры позднего средневековья с радиально-кольцевой планировкой. Естественной точкой роста таких городов был детинец-кремль, зажатый в треугольнике между двумя водными преградами. В детинце или сразу под его стенами, практически на одной довольно ограниченной площади, размещались и княжеский двор, и кафедральный собор, и торг. Кремль становился единственным средоточием важнейших функций города. Рост же городской территории на первых порах был возможен лишь в противоположном от стрелки мыса направлении. И новые укрепления полукружиями валов отрезали от него новые участки. Связь с центром осуществлялась по лучам-улицам, веером расходившимся из кремля. Старые стены ветшали и разбирались. На их месте образовывались свободные от застройки проезды.

Значительную часть территории города занимали дворы, находившиеся в собственности горожан. Усадьба-двор с ее жилыми и хозяйственными постройками, отделенная частоколами и заборами от внешнего мира, являлась первичной ячейкой, из совокупности которых складывался город.

Раз установленные границы усадеб не менялись веками. Данные наблюдения ведут к нескольким выводам. Во-первых, постоянство городских усадебных границ свидетельствует о частнособственническом характере земельных владений в городе. Во-вторых, горожане оказываются корпорацией землевладельцев, которым в совокупности принадлежит территория города. В этом кроется социальная основа городского строя Руси. В-третьих, устойчивость однажды выделенных дворовых участков указывает на их непосредственную связь с организацией внутригородской жизни. В противном случае они должны были бы дробиться при наследовании несколькими детьми или при продаже по частям.

Известные ныне по материалам археологических раскопок усадьбы жителей малых городов Руси имели размеры от 200—250 до 800—1000 кв. м.»

раскрыть весь текст

Расположение на карте - Пинское городище археологический памятник

Адрес Республика Беларусь, Брестская обл., г. Пинск, ул. Ленина GPS Google: 52.114557′ N, 26.111391′ E