The complex of the former Holy Spirit Monastery of Basilian
Basilian monastery complex - one of the most interesting ensemble in the Upper Town, consisted of the Church of the Holy Spirit - it is not preserved - and the two monastic buildings: male and female. Church of the Holy Spirit, founded in 1636 year in place of wooden Orthodox church.
This unique monument combined traits of two architectural style: the facade had the Renaissance character, but the building was Gothic: with lancet windows, high gabled roof and cross vaults. But the greatest originality lay in the fact that in the niches of the facade and gable were icons of the saints. This synthesis of architecture and painting not found in other countries, this was the contribution of Belarus into the European art of the Renaissance building. Holy Spirit Church since 1795 year, when the Basilian monastery was returned to the Orthodox, was Peter and Paul Cathedral, respectively, and then rebuilt in pseudo-Russian style in 1846-1850 years. Since 1860 year the Upper Market was renamed in the Cathedral Square thanks to this church.
In XX century, there was a tragic fate of the cathedral - in 1936 year it was blown up. Basilian monastery building was survived. Currently, the church of the Holy Spirit restored, it hosts a concert hall for children Philharmonic ”Upper Town”.reveal all text