ekskursii.by

Belarusian excursion portal

герб

Ushachi

Photo - Ushachi

The population: 6 thousand. Status: Small The year of foundation: XVI Vitebsk region, Ushachy district

Location - Ushachi

Ushachy – administrative center of Ushachy district of Vitebsk region. The urban village is located at a distance of 202 km from Minsk, 116 km from Vitebsk and is located on the Ushacha River. Motorways P29 (Ushachy - Vileika), P113 (Senno - Beshenkovichi - Ushachy) and P116 (Ushachy - Lepel) pass through the settlement.

reveal all text

History of the development - Ushachi

The first written mention of Ushachy dates back to XVI century . During the XVI-XVII centuries the settlement was owned by Anthony Selyava, Jozef Klyanovski, David Radiminski Frantskevich, a families of Shchitov, Plater, Jaba. By the middle of the XVIIIth century a Basilian monastery, a church and a monastery of Dominicans functioned in Ushachy. On June 23, 1758 the King and Grand Duke of Augustus III granted the town Magdeburg Law and the Coat of Arms. Ushachy also received the right to hold auctions and fairs. In 1772, Ushachy remained in the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth and at that time county seimics gathered in the village.

As a result of the second partition of the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth in 1793 Ushachy became part of the Russian Empire. Since the end of the XVIIIth century, Ushachy is a provincial city, a place, the center of the parish of Lepel County. During the Patriotic War of 1812 for a short time headquarters of the Russian General Wittgenstein was stationed here. In 1863, in order to suppress the national liberation uprising, the Russian authorities closed the church and monastery of the Dominicans in Ushachi, along with 3 churches in the vicinity of the town.

On January 1, 1919 Ushachy became part of the BSSR. At the end of the same year Ushachy disrict became part of the RSFSR. In March 1923, the settlement was returned to the BSSR. In 1938 Ushachy received the official status of urban-type village. During World War II from July 7, 1941 to June 29, 1944, the urban village was under German occupation. During the occupation, underground and partisan groups were active in the area. There was an underground printing house, partisan telephone hub, a power station, a timber mill. On June 29, 1944 Ushachy were liberated by the troops of the 1st Baltic Front.

reveal all text

Tourism potential - Ushachi

The center of the village has retained the historic layout. On the right bank of the river Ushacha there is an administrative and social center and the main residential development. Center of the urban village has a historic layout, which consists of 2-5-storey houses.

The main attraction of the area is memorial complex «Breakthrough», which is dedicated to the breakthrough by sixteen partisan detachments of the German blockade. The memorial complex is one of the most significant works of monumental art in Belarus and is designed to embody the courage and bravery of the partisans during the Great Patriotic War.

The main temple of Ushachy is the church of St. Lawrence, which was built in 1913. Initially, the main facade of the church was decorated with two towers, but to this day they have not survived. In 1932, the Soviet authorities closed the church and only in 2004 the church resumed its activity after a three-year restoration. Parental home of Rygor Borodulin was also preserved in the urban village, in which he spent his childhood.

In Ushachy museum of the national glory name after V.Е. Lobanok You can learn about the history of the partisan movement in Ushachy during the Great Patriotic War.

reveal all text

Location map - Ushachi

GPS Google: 55.1777000′ N, 28.6140995′ E

ekskursii.by

Белорусский экскурсионный портал

герб

Ушачи

Фото - Ушачи

Население: 6 тыс. чел. Статус: Малый Год основания: XVI Витебская область, Ушачский район

Расположение - Ушачи

Ушачи – административный центр Ушачского района Витебской области. Городской посёлок находится на расстоянии в 202 км от Минска, 116 км от Витебска и расположен на реке Ушача. Через поселок проходят автомобильные дороги Р29 (Ушачи - Вилейка), Р113 (Сенно - Бешенковичи - Ушачи) и Р116 (Ушачи - Лепель).

раскрыть весь текст

История развития - Ушачи

Первое письменное упоминание об Ушачах датируется XVI веком. На протяжении XVI-XVII веков населенным пунктом владели Антоний Селява, Юзеф Кляновски, Давид Радимински Францкевич, рода Щитов, Плятеров, Жаба. К середине XVIII века в Учашах функционировали базилианский монастырь, костел и монастырь доминиканцев, при котором действовали больница и школа. 23 июня 1758 года король и великий князь Август III даровал местечку Магдебургское право и герб. Попутно Ушачи получили право проводить торги и ярмарки. После первого раздела Речи Посполитой в 1772 году в Ушачах собирались уездные сеймики Великого Княжества Литовского.

В результате второго раздела Речи Посполитой в 1793 году Ушачи оказались в составе Российской империи. С конца XVIII века Ушачи — заштатный город, местечко, центр волости Лепельского уезда. В время Отечественной войны 1812 года здесь на короткое время размещался штаб российского генерала Витгенштейна. В 1863 году с целью подавления национально-освободительного восстания российские власти закрыли костел и монастырь доминиканцев в Ушачах вместе с 3 костелами в окрестностях местечка.

1 января 1919 года Ушачи вошли в состав БССР. В конце того же года Ушаччина вошла в состав РСФСР. В марте 1923 года населенный пункт вернули БССР. В 1938 году Ущачи получили официальный статус поселка городского типа. Во время Великой Отечественной войны с 7 июля 1941 до 29 июня 1944 года городской поселок находился под немецкой оккупацией. Во время оккупации в районе вели деятельность подпольные и партизанские группы. Здесь располагалась подпольная типография, действовали партизанский телефонный узел, электростанция, лесозавод. 29 июня 1944 года Ушачи были освобождены войсками 1-го Прибалтийского фронта.

раскрыть весь текст

Туристический потенциал - Ушачи

Центр поселка сохранил историческую планировку. На правом берегу реки Ушача находится административно-общественный центр и основная жилая застройка. В центре городского поселка сохранилась историческая планировка, которая состоит из 2-5-этажных домов.

Главной достопримечательностью района является мемориальный комплекс «Прорыв», который посвящён прорыву шестнадцатью партизанскими отрядами немецкой блокады. Мемориальный комплекс является одним из самых значительных произведений монументального искусства Беларуси и призван воплотить в себе мужество и отвагу партизан в годы Великой Отечественной войны.

Главным храмом Ушачей является костел Святого Лаврентия, который был построен в 1913 году. Первоначально главный фасад костела украшали две башни, но до наших дней они не сохранились. В 1932 году советские власти закрыли костел и только в 2004 году храм возобновил свою деятельность после трехлетней реставрации. В городском поселке также сохранился родительский дом Рыгора Бородулина, в котором он провёл детство.

В Ушачском музее народной славы им. В.Е. Лобанка можно ознакомиться с историей партизанского движения на Ушаччине в годы Великой Отечественной войны.

раскрыть весь текст

Расположение на карте - Ушачи

GPS Google: 55.1777000′ N, 28.6140995′ E