ekskursii.by

Belarusian excursion portal

герб

Zhabinka

Photo - Zhabinka

The population: 13 thousand. Status: Average The year of foundation: 1871 Brest region, Zhabinka district

Location - Zhabinka

Zhabinka is the administrative center of the Zhabinka district of the Brest region. The city is located on the river Mukhavets at the confluence of the river Zhabinka into it, from which it received its name. Zhabinka is located 30 km from Brest and 329 km from Minsk. The distance to the border with the Republic of Poland is 44 km, to the border with Ukraine is 63 km. Zhabinka is a large railway junction through which two important railways pass: Brest-Minsk and Brest-Pinsk. In addition, the city is connected by roads with Kobrin, Brest and Kamenets.

reveal all text

History of the development - Zhabinka

The official date of foundation of Zhabinka is 1871, when the railway station of the same name, which is part of the Brest-Moscow route, appeared in this area. However, it is worth noting that the first mention of the settlement is found in 1816 - at that time the village belonged to the Pans of Gonetsky. In the middle of the XIX century. Zhabinka became a possession of the Trembitsky family. An interesting fact is that the landowner Adolph Trembitsky did not allow the authorities to build a railroad in their possessions, so the way had to be somewhat shifted to the side. The appearance of the railway station contributed to the development of Zhabinka.

In 1890, there were 282 inhabitants in Zhabinka, there were several shops, a hotel, a post office, and three taverns. In the village functioned a church and a synagogue. At the beginning of the XX century. In Zhabinka, the first industrial enterprises were created is a cloth workshop and a sawmill. In 1905, Kamenets-Fedkovichi Highway was laid across the village. During the First World War from 1915-1918. Zhabinka was occupied by German troops. In February 1919 the village was occupied by the Poles. During the Soviet-Polish war in July-August 1920, Zhabinka temporarily came under the control of Soviet power. At this time, a revolutionary committee was created in the village and Soviet power was established. According to the results of the Riga Peace Treaty of 1921, Zhabinka, as part of Western Belarus, was ceded to Poland, which included until 1939. From 1939 Zhabinka became part of the BSSR. January 15, 1940 Zhabinka became the center of the Zhabinka district of the Brest region. During the Great Patriotic War, the village was occupied by the German fascist invaders from June 23, 1941 to July 21, 1944.

In the postwar years, the development of the village continued. In 1952, Zhabinka was granted the status of an urban-type settlement, and on December 23, 1970, the status of a town. Since 2014, Zhabinka is a satellite city of Brest. Today Zhabinka is a small modern city in which numerous industrial enterprises, institutions of sports, culture and education function.

reveal all text

Tourism potential - Zhabinka

You can visit Zhabinka on the way to Brest. The city has preserved a unique wooden Church of the Intercession is a monument of neo-classical architecture, built in 1885.

reveal all text

Location map - Zhabinka

GPS Google: 52.1950988′ N, 24.0135002′ E

ekskursii.by

Белорусский экскурсионный портал

герб

Жабинка

Фото - Жабинка

Население: 13 тыс. чел. Статус: Средний Год основания: 1871 Брестская область, Жабинковский район

Расположение - Жабинка

Жабинка - административный центр Жабинковского района Брестской области. Город расположен на р. Мухавец при впадении в неё реки Жабинка, от которой и получил свое название. Жабинка расположена в 30 км от г. Бреста. в 329 км от г. Минска. Расстояние до границы с Республикой Польша составляет 44 км, до границы с Украиной - 63 км. Жабинка - крупный железнодорожный узел через который проходят две важные железные дороги: Брест-Минск и Брест-Пинск. Кроме того, город связан автомобильными дорогами с Кобрином, Брестом и Каменцем.

раскрыть весь текст

История развития - Жабинка

Официальной датой основания Жабинки считается 1871 г., когда в этой местности появилась железнодорожная станция с одноименным названием, являющаяся частью пути Брест-Москва. Однако, стоит отметить, что первое упоминание о поселении встречается в 1816 г. - в то время деревня принадлежала панам Гонецким. В середине XIX в. Жабинка стала владением рода Трембицких. Интересен тот факт, что помещик Адольф Трембицкий не позволял властям строить железную дорогу в своих владениях, поэтому пути пришлось несколько сместить в сторону. Появление железнодорожной станции способствовало развитию Жабинки.

В 1890 г. в Жабинке проживало 282 жителя, работало несколько лавок, гостиница, почта, три корчмы. В поселке функционировали церковь и синагога. В начале XX в. в Жабинке были созданы первые промышленные предприятия - суконная мастерская и лесопильня. В 1905 г. через поселок было проложено шоссе Каменец-Федьковичи. Во время Первой мировой войны с 1915-1918 гг. Жабинка была оккупирована германскими войсками. В феврале 1919 г. поселок был занят поляками. Во время советско-польской войны в июле-августе 1920 г. Жабинка временно перешла под контроль советской власти. В это время в поселке был создан революционный комитет и была установлена советская власть. По результатам Рижского мирного договора 1921 г. Жабинка, как часть Западной Беларуси, отошла к Польше, в составе которой находилась до 1939 г. С 1939 г. Жабинка вошла в состав БССР. 15 января 1940 г. Жабинка стала центром Жабинковского района Брестской области. В период Великой Отечественной войны поселок был оккупирован немецко-фашистскими захватчиками с 23 июня 1941 г. по 21 июля 1944 г.

В послевоенные годы развитие поселка продолжилось. В 1952 г. Жабинке был присвоен статус поселка городского типа, а в 23 декабря 1970 г. - статус города. С 2014 г. Жабинка является городом-спутником Бреста. Сегодня Жабинка - это небольшой современный город, в котором функционируют многочисленные промышленные предприятия, учреждения спорта, культуры и образования.

раскрыть весь текст

Туристический потенциал - Жабинка

Посетить Жабинку можно по пути в Брест. В городе сохранилась уникальная деревянная Покровская церковь - памятник архитектуры неоклассицизма, возведенная в 1885 г.

раскрыть весь текст

Расположение на карте - Жабинка

GPS Google: 52.1950988′ N, 24.0135002′ E